WIAW #9: Regular Summer Eats

Happy Wednesday! I’m pretending today is Friday and it pretty much is for me since I am heading to North Carolina tomorrow to look at houses near Camp Lejeune. It’s not really going to be much of a vacation since I’ll be running around trying to see as many places as possible in 24 hours but I am a little excited to see the new place that we are going to be living in August. I’ve never been to this area of North Carolina before so I hope I like it!

Moving on, its time for What I Ate Wednesday! If you’re new to WIAW, head over to Peas and Crayons and check it out:

Yesterday was a pretty normal day of eating for me. I’m still sticking to the low-glycemic diet but I have to say I haven’t really noticed any changes in my body composition. I lost about 3 pounds in the first 3 weeks but over the past week-and-a-half I’ve gained almost all of it back, even though I’ve continued tracking my calories and sticking to the same diet. I don’t know what’s up, but I’m going to stick with the program and hope it all comes together in the end.

Breakfast – 9 a.m.

Breakfast was a bowl of steel cut oats made with skim milk and egg whites for some extra protein and a big scoop of almond butter, blueberries and cinnamon. I’m pretty sure I could eat oatmeal for breakfast every single day (I already do) and never get sick of it. I was somehow hungry again about 2 hours after breakfast yesterday so I had a small bowl of Kashi GoLean with skim milk for a little snack but forgot to take a picture. It didn’t look very exciting anyways so you’re not missing anything 🙂

Lunch – 1:30 p.m.

We had some leftover chicken from Monday night’s dinner so I cut it up into small pieces and mixed in a tablespoon of Trader Joe’s hummus dressing and some avocado to make a chicken salad.

I made a sandwich on Ezekial bread with some spinach. Delicious!

And for my sweet tooth, a big handful of cherries.

Snack – 4 p.m.

My gym just started holding Olympic weightlifting class on Tuesday evenings, so I knew I would need a snack before two hours of CrossFit and had a banana with almond butter. The Olympic lifting class was focused more on technique than lifting heavy weight, so it wasn’t like I was doing two high-intensity workouts in a row, but it was still really tough! Probably because I suck so badly at Olympic lifts. Practice makes perfect though, so I’m going to try to go to the class every Tuesday and Thursday.

Dinner – 7 p.m.

I picked up some Mahi Mahi burgers at Trader Joe’s and they were really good! I cooked them on the stove rather than the grill but they still tasted great. I had mine on a whole wheat bun with peach mango salsa, spinach and avocado on top. Yum!

I made a chickpea salad on the side by combining 1.5 cups of chickpeas, 1 cup diced tomatoes, 1/2 cup diced cucumbers, 1/2 cup diced onions and 1/2 cup feta cheese. This made a huge bowl that served both me and Brian with enough for leftovers again tonight.

Dessert – 9:30 p.m.

A piece of this delicious sea salt chocolate, which I ate crumbled up into tiny pieces in a bowl of Greek yogurt with blueberries.

There you go, another What I Ate Wednesday!

7 thoughts on “WIAW #9: Regular Summer Eats

  1. I actually live in the DC area- and just got back from a European trip that included a stop in Florence! Isnt it beautiful? Those cherries are huge! And your snack with Almond Butter (I think?) looks fantastic- been craving AB all morning!

    • Ah I’m so jealous! I hope you had a great trip 🙂 My husband and I are thinking of going back to Florence for our very belated honeymoon. Or basically anywhere in Italy, the whole country is so beautiful.

    • They are AMAZING. I got them at Farm Fresh! I’m not sure how big of a chain Farm Fresh is since I’d never seen one until I moved to Virginia Beach, but I bet most grocery stores have them.

  2. Gosh I’m totally jealous of those trader joes burgers. I need a trader joes in my life 😦 We are getting one in Austin, but it isn’t being built till like 2013. I can’t wait that long. Don’t they know that lol

Leave a Reply

