Born to Run and Cute Workout Clothes

I have a confession: I don’t really like to shop. I like clothes and dressing up just as much as the next girl, but I’m really not that into fashion. Shopping is fun for me for about 20 minutes, but after that I get sick of the whole getting undressed and dressed again process  and all of the clothes just sort of become one big blur. About three times a year I decide that I hate everything I own and go on a shopping spree during which I vow to put some effort into my outfits and become fashionable, but this phase only lasts about a week and then I’m back in jeans, tanks and flip flops. Usually rotating between about 2 pairs of each that I wear 99% of the time.

There is one exception to this rule, however, and that is shopping for workout clothes. While I only last a short while at the mall, I could spend hours trying on every single item in Lululemon. Maybe shopping for workout clothes is just easier? I’m not really sure why, but I would rather go to the Sports Authority than Saks almost any day.

One reason that I love workout clothes is that you can get away with wearing insanely bright colors. The two pairs of sneakers that I have right now are bright purple/yellow and bright turquoise/lime green, and I am fully convinced that either pair matches perfectly with  turquoise shorts and a hot pink shirt.

My affinity for bright colors led to this fantastic purchase earlier today:

The cutest running skirt I’ve ever seen. It totally clashes with the hideous hotel comforter but please just try to look past that.

I went to Dick’s for a new water bottle earlier today and walked with a new pair of sneakers and this skirt. Whoops.

I couldn’t resist though. This little beauty practically smiled at me from the rack as soon as I walked in the store. It even has hot pink shorts underneath! Cute AND functional.

Unfortunately, I’m not really doing any much running these days so this skirt is going to be seeing most of its action at CrossFit. I’ve never seen anyone do CrossFit in a running skirt before, but that doesn’t mean you can’t, right? I practiced a few squats and the skirt moved comfortably with them so I’ve decided I’m good to go.

I also got a new pair of sneakers which I’ve been meaning to do for a while since I’m going on almost a year with my current pair. I’ve been told that minimalist shoes are the best for weightlifting/running/plyometric workouts like CrossFit (our coach lifts in Chuck Taylors) and been on the fence about them until listening to Born to Run on tape while driving from Connecticut to Virginia last week.

I know I’m way behind on this one since everyone else read this like a year ago, but if you haven’t read it yet I highly recommend. Not only is it a great story, but the author also makes some great points about the benefits of minimalist/barefoot running. His argument that many running injuries are caused because our foot muscles are so weakened by corrective running shoes with loads of cushioning made a lot of sense to me.

I tried on a few pairs of sneakers at a running store last weekend and wasn’t crazy about any of them, but these New Balance 730s felt perfect on my feet as soon as I put them on. They are very lightweight with just a slight heel drop (I think its 3mm) and some cushioning underfoot. Usually runners are advised to gradually transition from corrective running shoes to minimalist shoes, but since I’m only running a few sprint intervals at CrossFit once or twice a week I think I’ll be okay.

The best part of these new shoes? They fulfill my lifelong dream of matching with Brian. He bought the New Balance Minimus Zeros last weekend which are almost identical to the 730s.

His and hers matching sneakers. I’m dying of cuteness overload right now.

Even though I’m bursting with excitement I’m going to try to keep my new shoes a secret as long as possible because Brian is going to kill me when he finds out. He said he would be so embarrassed if I copied his shoes, but I think he secretly likes when I do annoying things like this. His life would be so boring without me.

I can’t wait to wear my new gear tomorrow! I’m going to rock the brand new white sneaks and the new skirt. I have no shame.

What do you think of running skirts??
Love ’em. I don’t know why I don’t own like 10 of these already.

Have you tried minimalist running shoes? 

Have you read Born to Run? Did you like it?
Yes and now I want to run away to Mexico and join the Tarahumara and cure all of my running injuries like Christopher McDougall and Caballo Blanco.

Leave a Reply

