WIAW #8: Back in Action

Hello! I took a little break from blogging over the past week, but I’m back! We’re back home (a.k.a. the hotel) in Virginia Beach and I’m so happy to be back with the hubby after almost 3 weeks apart. Now we are starting to look for our next home in Camp Lejeune, N.C. I’m a little surprised at how few rentals I’m finding in that area, but it is a tad way more rural than the other places I’ve lived – Boston, Sarasota, D.C. and Alexandria – so i guess I shouldn’t be too surprised. If anyone is familiar with the Jacksonville area and knows of good places to live, let me know!

Enough about that, it’s What I Ate Wednesday! If you’re new to WIAW, head over to Peas and Crayons and check it out:

Breakfast – 9 a.m.

Oats in an almost empty almond butter jar made with steel cut oats, skim milk, liquid egg whites and blueberries. Yum! My favorite part of oats in a jar? Less dishes to clean! When you don’t have a dishwasher and have to wash all of your dishes by hand, one less dirty dish makes a world of difference.

Lunch – 1 p.m.

I went to a yoga class at noon yesterday and was starving when I got home so I threw this lunch together in about 30 seconds. I made a wrap on a whole wheat tortilla with spinach, turkey, tomatoes and avocado.

I also had some leftover brussels sprouts on the side. Sad fact: steamed/sauteed brussels sprouts are nowhere near as good as roasted brussels sprouts. I can’t wait to have an oven again!

Snack – 4 p.m.

A big, delicious Fuji apple.

Dinner – 7 p.m.

Thank goodness we had leftover steak in the fridge for that meat loving carnivore I live with, because I accidentally bought chicken flavored veggie burgers instead of real chicken burgers. Whoops! I mean, I thought the box said chicken, although upon closer inspection i realized it actually read “chick’n.” Big difference. These were Morningstar Farms Chick’n Grillers, which I thought I would hate because I usually don’t like veggie products that try to taste like meat, but these actually weren’t bad. Especially when topped with a crapload of tomato and avocado. Lesson learned!

Dessert – 9 p.m.

After dinner I had some really tasty cherries and a few handfuls of chocolate chips. These cherries are sweet and crunchy, which is not always the case.

There you go, my eats from yesterday. Enjoy your day!

5 thoughts on “WIAW #8: Back in Action

Leave a Reply

