WIAW #7: Sensible Snacking

This month’s WIAW theme is all about sensible snacking which is perfect for someone like me who tends to tends to use summer time as an excuse to eat ice cream every single day. If you’re new to What I Ate Wednesday, visit Peas and Crayons and check it out.

Without further ado, here’s what I ate yesterday:

Breakfast – 9 a.m.

Oats with skim milk, diced apples, cinnamon, one egg white and slice almonds. It’s finally cooled off a little bit here so it was nice to be able to eat a bowl of oatmeal without sweating through my pjs. I’ve tried the whole cold overnight oats thing but I just can’t enjoy a bowl of cold oatmeal, it tastes weird to me.

Lunch – 1 p.m.

The weather was actually pretty chilly yesterday – my thin Virginia blood can’t handle New England weather even in June – so I wanted something hot for lunch. I made a pita pizza with tomato sauce, spinach, mozzarella cheese, mushrooms and black olives. This lunch really hit the spot. I swear, you can never go wrong with pizza.

Snack – 3 p.m.

As delicious as my pita pizza was, it was a little small for a lunch and didn’t do a good job of holding me over so I was hungry again about an hour later. With the cold, crummy weather yesterday was a perfect day to do some baking. I made a batch of muffins based off of a recipe for Low GI Diet Apple Bran Muffins that I found on Sparkpeople.com.

I was a little skeptical of a recipe from a diet book, but these actually turned out really good! They were nice and moist with lots of apple chunks. I had two of them for an afternoon snack. Recipe coming your way tomorrow!

Dinner – 7 p.m.

My house was leftover city last night which was awesome because I looove me some leftovers. I couldn’t decide between my mom’s cooking and Chinese food so I had a little of both: salmon, roasted brussels sprouts and shrimp and asparagus stir-fry.

After dinner my brain completely forgot that it was What I Ate Wednesday day and I snarfed down a bowl of Greek yogurt with chocolate chips without taking a picture. If you haven’t tried this dessert, I highly recommend it. Some people think it sounds weird but the tart taste of the yogurt and the sweetness of the chocolate chips are perfect together.

There you go, what I ate yesterday!

2 thoughts on “WIAW #7: Sensible Snacking

  1. Greek yogurt + choc chips sounds fine by me! I just had some with honey for a snack. the 2% is blowing my mind. it’s less than 5 grams of fat I’d you have an entire cup. so still an amazingly healthy snack. I can’t imagine ever going for nonfat again. :p

    • Oh my gosh I totally agree! The 2% tastes wayy better. And I’ve been told that fat-free stuff is not really that good for you anyways, since there’s often added sugar to make it taste better.

Leave a Reply

