June Goals

Holy cow! I can’t believe it’s June already! The past month literally flew by for me.

I’m a little behind since it’s already June 4, but it’s never too late to set some personal goals. First, let’s see how I did on my goals for May, shall we?

1. Drink more water
Check! I’m back to getting at least 64 ounces a day, although it’s usually close to 100 ounces, and I am feeling so much better. I think I am just one of those people who needs to drink a lot of water. If I don’t drink anything for more than an hour, I get a serious case of dry throat and the hypochondriac inside me starts thinking that I have a sore throat and am getting sick. So, I will keep on chugging water!

2. Run a road race
Done! The Equi-Kids 5k was a great time and it felt good to be running with a big bunch of people once again. Plus, I got to see some cute dogs and hang out with my cutie patootie husband. I haven’t seen him in a week because he is doing military training and I am really starting to miss his cute butt face. Here is some photographic proof of our little accomplishment and an excuse for me to look at Bri-Bri for a sec. 🙂

3. Reduce my sugar intake
This one is debatable. I’m not going to lie, I was still making bi-weekly trips to get fro-yo and feeling compelled to order dessert on date nights up until about a week ago, so I failed at this goal for most of May. However, since starting a low-glycemic index diet a week ago I have managed to cut down on the sugar quite a bit. I’m still not as low as the recommended amount that MyFitnessPal is giving me, which is 30 grams per day for a 1600 calorie a day diet, so this is one that I am going to keep working on.

June Goals
1. Get outside more

Since I’ve been at my parents’ house I’ve been taking our dogs on daily walks and am loving the extra time outside. My goal is to keep this up when I go back to Virginia Beach and am dog-less again, so my goal for June is to get 30 minutes of physical activity outdoors each day. This could be a walk with the pups, run on the beach, stretching outdoors or even outlet shopping.

2. Go to bed earlier
Since I started working from home my sleep schedule has gotten way out of whack. I went from waking up at 5 or 6 a.m. each day to sleeping until 9 or 10 a.m. I hate waking up late and feeling like I’ve lost my day and I don’t even really like staying up late that much unless I am out doing something fun. My goal for the month of June is to hit the hay by 11 p.m. and be up 7:30 each morning. That will give me a solid 8.5 hours of sleep and make me feel like less of a lazy bum.

3. See Newsies on Broadway!
This MUST happen while I am home. For those of you who aren’t familiar, Newsies is a Disney movie that came out in 1992 starring a teenage Christian Bale as the absolutely adorable “Cowboy” as well as a slew of other ’90s child stars. I may or may not have watched this movie at least once a week in 8th grade. I may or may not have done a history project on the Newsboy strike of 1899 (it was a real historical event, people). I may or may not still own the soundtrack. I am most definitely still in love with Christian Bale because of this movie. Sorry, Brian, but until you are willing to costume up in a newsboy cap and sing and dance to the brilliant work of Kenny Ortega, you can’t compare.

There you have it, my goals for the month of June. Wish me luck!

What are your goals this month??? Any other Newsies fans out there???

Leave a Reply

