WIAW #6: Glycemic Index Diet

Hi there! I hope everyone is having a great week so far.

I’ve been super tired the last couple of days, which I’m guessing from the combination of cutting out caffeine and the extra workouts for the Midline Massacre. On the positive side, I’ve been sleeping wonderfully!

I’m going to share my eats from today for What I Ate Wednesday. If you’re new to WIAW, head over to Peas and Crayons and check it out!

Breakfast – 9 a.m.

Today’s breakfast included steel cut oats made with skim milk, blueberries, almonds and a sprinkle of cinnamon. It looks like a big bowl of blueberries, but there is oatmeal hiding under there, I swear!

Lunch – 12:30 p.m.

For lunch I stuffed a pita pocket with hummus, turkey, spinach, tomato and avocado.

I also had a bowl of greek yogurt, blueberries and a little bit of Kashi GoLean Crunch.

Snack – 3 p.m.

I had a hair appointment this afternoon and knew I would be hungry right about the time I got to the salon, so I snacked on an apple and a handful of almonds on my way out the door.

It’s amazing just a little trim can make your hair feel so much better. This haircut was long overdue so my ends were badly in need of some attention. All better now!

Dinner – 7 p.m.

I was on my own for dinner tonight, so I attempted to make an omelet. My attempt failed miserably but I still ended up with a pretty good scramble of egg whites, spinach, mushrooms, tomatoes and cheese.

Since I was already having breakfast for dinner, I decided to have a small bowl of Kashi GoLean Crunch to wash it down. Surprisingly, this cereal is one of only a few approved for the low glycemic index diet. Even though it has a fair amount of sugar, I’m guessing the high protein and fiber content helps reduce its glycemic index.

This was my second day following the glycemic index diet, and so far, so good! I’ve been loosely following the meal plan provided by my gym but had to alter it a little bit because chili is on the menu for lunch and it is too freakin’ hot out for chili. I am staying within my caloric limit, hitting my protein quota, sticking to low glycemic index foods and keeping up with the workouts. I’m interested to see what happens!

Have a good one!

2 thoughts on “WIAW #6: Glycemic Index Diet

Leave a Reply

