A Cure for Treadmill Boredom

Hello, hello! If your holiday weekend has begun already like mine, happy weekend! If not, hang in there, you’re almost there!

Brian and I have some exciting plans for this weekend. We’re heading up to our old stomping grounds in Alexandria, Va. tomorrow after a special CrossFit class (more on that another time) for the weekend. Then on Memorial Day I will be braving the traffic to drive up to Connecticut to stay with my family for three weeks while Brian is in a training school in Quantico, Va. I am so lucky to have a job that allows me to travel whenever I want to – as long as I can bring my computer.

I’ve got some big plans for while I’m in Connecticut:

  • Buying a new car! (hence the 9-hour drive rather than a quick flight)
  • Trying a new CrossFit gym
  • Spending time with family and friends
  • Cuddling with my family’s adorable pooches, a Bichon named Porkchop and a teeny-tiny poodle named Lily
  • Baking!!!! I have I so missed having an oven. I will be baking inappropriate amounts of delicious treats and bringing them back to Virginia Beach.
  • Downloading $100 million worth of books onto my mom’s IPad and holding it hostage for the duration of my stay

I’m going to miss my hubby, but I am really excited to get to spend some time with my family and friends. My schedule has been so crazy that I’ve only spent a total of about seven days in my hometown in the last two years!

Anywayssss, after all of that blabbering, it’s finally time to get to the title of the post, treadmill boredom. I often suffer from treadmill ADD when I go to the gym. Even if I’ve got a good book on the IPad or something good on t.v., I really can’t handle more than 45 minutes on the treadmill without going nuts. After that point, I start counting down the 0.01 miles on the treadmill which just makes the workout feel a billion times longer and more difficult.

Whenever I’m feeling especially ADD, like I was yesterday, I come up with a fun treadmill workout to keep things interesting. Yesterday’s workout was a good mix of jogging, sprinting and walking on some serious hills.

Because I am a huge dork, I like having some sort of “scheme” to my treadmill workouts. The idea behind this one was matching the sprint speed to the hill incline, which gave me something to mix up on the treadmill settings every minute or two and kept my boredom at bay. The walking portions of the workout did feel a little tedious compared to the sprints, which just flew by. This workout covered 3.5 miles including warm up and cool down in about 40 minutes and got me nice and sweaty.

If you want to try it out, please feel free to adjust the settings to your fitness level.

I’m off to do a fun partner WOD at CrossFit and then spend the rest of the day being a beach bum.

Enjoy your weekend!

How do you battle treadmill boredom???
Pandora, books and music on the IPad, and switching up the speeds and inclines

2 thoughts on “A Cure for Treadmill Boredom

Leave a Reply

