WIAW #5: A Momentous Occasion

Hi there! Soo I totally spaced yesterday and forgot to take photos of my food, so instead of Tuesday’s meals I’ll be sharing today (Wednesday’s) eats instead. Cool? Cool!

If you’re new to What I Ate Wednesday, head on over to Peas and Crayons and read all about it.

Breakfast – 9 a.m.

I made a batch of banana oats on the stove and they turned out super thick and delicious. It’s not the most exciting looking breakfast, but it tasted pretty darn good. In the mix were oats, milk, a mashed banana, pinch of cinnamon and a scoop of almond butter. I also had a cup of coffee that went un-photographed.

Lunch – 1 p.m.

I took a break around lunchtime to go for a run on the beach because the weather was finally nice for the first time in what felt like forever. Since the weather has been so crappy, running has been missing from my workout routine lately. I ran four miles on the beach and my legs and lungs were burning like no other. Note to self: run more often. It will make the experience much more enjoyable.

When I got back I threw together a wrap with hummus, turkey, spinach and pickles with some baby carrots and hummus for dipping on the side.

 Snack – 4 p.m.

I was hungry a few hours later so grabbed a peach and some almonds. The peaches I bought at Harris Teeter on Sunday ripened FAST so Brian and I are trying our best to eat them as quickly as possible. I don’t think that’s going to be too difficult though :).

Dinner – 7 p.m.

I made Rachael Ray’s Spanakopita turkey burgers for the first time a few weeks ago and they turned out great, so I repeated the recipe tonight. That woman annoys the heck out of me but she sure knows her stuff when it comes to making delicious, healthy burgers. These babies are packed with spinach, feta and fabulous spices.

Of course, I totally spaced and got halfway through my burgers before I remembered to take a picture. I eat way too fast for this to ever be a “What I Ate” blog every day of the week.

My burger was bun-less tonight because we only had a few sandwich thins left and I’m too cheap/lazy to buy any more since Brian and I will be away for three weeks beginning this weekend.

Dessert – 9 p.m.
 

Since I was such a selfless wife and sacrificed my burger bun for Brian, I deserve fro-yo tonight, right? Just nod and say yes, mmkay.

My cup of deliciousness included chocolate, vanilla, cake batter and peanut butter frozen yogurt topped with blueberries, mango, butterscotch chips, white chocolate chips, dark chocolate chips and coconut. If there was a competition for who could include the most ingredients in a cup of fro-yo for under $2.50, I would win, no contest.

I also got a cup for Brian to enjoy when he gets home from work later tonight. He is boring and only likes one or two flavors and toppings at a time, so I got him oreo fro-yo and the same chip selection that I had.

Note how much bigger his serving is – not because he can eat more fro-yo than me (hah! what a joke) – but so that he will think I am a generous wife when in fact I am just planning ahead for when I make him share with me later. I am an excellent planner when it comes to the important things in life.

Now for the exciting part: when the cashier rang me up, she told me that I had completed my loyalty card! YESS!

Free ice cream makes me crazy happy! Or just crazy. Either way, there is a free small cup of frozen yogurt in my very near future.

Stay tuned next WIAW for a post including the biggest cup of frozen yogurt ever assembled.

Have a good one!

3 thoughts on “WIAW #5: A Momentous Occasion

  1. I am so jealous, there are no fro-yo places around here that have peanut butter flavored! I am so jealous. Looks delicious!

    • That is tragic! I’m lucky to have two fro-yo places right down the street. I’m a fan of Sweet Frog because peanut butter is one of their staple flavors 🙂

Leave a Reply

