Copperhead Snakes and a Japanese Garden

It’s a weird post title, I know, but it will all make sense in a minute.

I decided to do some exploring today and headed to a nearby park to go for a run outside in this beautiful weather. The Virginia Beach Parks and Recreation Department website claimed that Redwing Park was 97 acres in size and had a mile-long trail. A 3-mile run sounded perfect for today so I figured I would jog the trail a few times.

I arrived at the park and my first thought was that it seemed a lot smaller than 97 acres, but oh well. I also realized that the trail was not so much a trail as a poorly maintained path through the woods. I was jumping over logs and sort of foraging my own path the entire way, which would’ve been fine for a walk but it made running a little difficult. I basically just wandered around the woods for half an hour, sometimes following a path, sometimes not. The thought occurred to me that this may not have been the best idea since I was alone and get lost really easily, but I pushed that thought out of my head and kept trucking on.

After I was done playing Pocahontas, I emerged from the woods and nearly ran into a park ranger who stopped me and asked exactly where I had come from. I pointed to the wooded area behind me and was then informed to be careful since he had just spotted a huge copperhead snake where I had just been running. Scary!

I was a little freaked out by that, especially since I was by myself and there were hardly any people around to hear my cries if I did get bitten by a snake. Luckily, I found a nice little place to recover from my mini panic attack when I discovered that the park had a cute Japanese rock garden.

According to one of the plaques, Virginia Beach is the sister city of Miyazaki, Japan. Who knew?

The garden was so pretty with lots of different foliage and a little pond with a waterfall. The space was quiet and relaxing and I wished I could hang out there all day.

Please know that I do not have a disgusting rash on my chest, I just get splotchy there when i run.

Anyone know how to read Chinese?

Unfortunately, there was this little thing called work that required me to head back home.

All in all, I would say my trip to the park was a success. I spent some time outside, broke a sweat and discovered a cool new place. I probably won’t go back for a run, but I will definitely be dragging Brian there for a stroll through the garden and perhaps a little meditation. He’s gonna LOVE that bahaha.

Enjoy your the rest of your Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

