WIAW #1: The Inaugural Post

Today is my first WIAW post! I first discovered “What I Ate Wednesday” over at My Food n’ Fitness Diaries and learned that it was started by Jenn, the blogger behind Peas and Crayons. Jenn’s blog even links to all of the bloggers who participate in sharing their eats every Wednesday- so cool! You should definitely head over to Jenn’s blog and check it out.

Unfortunately, since this was my first shot at a WIAW post I kinddd of botched it up and forgot to photograph my breakfast and morning snack. But you can just use your imagination, right?

I had an early doctor appointment so I prepared some overnight oats on Monday evening by combining:

½ cup Quaker oats
6 oz. Chobani apple cinnamon yogurt
A splash of almond milk

In the morning I mixed in a spoonful of Sunbutter. Apples + nut butter = the best.

When I got back from my appointment I made some coffee with Almond Breeze Almond Coconut milk mixed in. I bought this for the first time on Sunday and am still deciding whether or not I like it. I think I like regular almond milk better, but maybe that just because I’m used to the taste of it. I’m going to give it until the end of the carton decide on my final verdict.

I was hungry again around 10:30 so I microwaved a deep chocolate flavored Vitatop and smeared some Sunbutter on top.

For lunch I made a huge salad with romaine lettuce, chickpeas, baby carrots, tomatoes, white mushrooms, almonds and my favorite pear and Gorgonzola dressing.  

I also had a deliciously crunchy Jazz apple for some sweetness.

Since my lunch was a little lacking in the carb department, I snacked on a banana with some PB2 about an hour before Crossfit.

I had planned to make linguine with meat sauce for dinner, but when I realized that we had some frozen stir-fry veggies leftover from Monday night’s dinner I thought they would be the perfect addition to the sauce. I had to talk Brian into since he thought the stir-fry veggies would taste “weird” in a pasta sauce, but he ended up loving it. He should really just accept the fact that I am always right.

And, last, but not least, dessert was a Skinny Cow ice cream sandwich. Chocolate, of course.

And there you have it, my first WIAW post!

Leave a Reply

